The Karma Train


The other day I was going through the drive-thru at Dairy Queen in Sioux Falls because I wanted some chocolate, my vice, and having it in a cup full of ice cream just made it that much more appealing. I pull up to the speaker and place my order for the Georgia Mud Fudge, no nuts, chocolate ice cream and then patiently wait my turn to pull up to the window.

Now, normally, I would pull up to the window and transfer money to the cashier and take my treat along to devour but this particular plan didn’t follow through as usual. I did pull up to the window but before I could get out my money, the cashier told me that the car ahead had already paid for my indulgence. The first thing that popped into my brain was that the other party was doing some kind of “pay ahead” treat that would encourage you to pay for the person behind you to push good karma, and yet I was wrong there.

The cashier hands me a slip of paper and said that the car ahead also wanted me to have this. On the paper was the following:

“Please enjoy this RANDOM ACT OF KINDNESS in honor of Asher who is celebrating His 3rd birthday in Heaven!”
“Spread love wherever you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving better or happier” -Mother Teresa

On the back was written:

“Hope you enjoy your treat!”
“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. – Phil 4:13”

My DQ Blizzard tasted better but still it choked me up some as well because I too had an important date to address. March 29th would be one whole year without my best friend, Angela Dawn DeJong. The whole event had some air of mystical alignment and yet I still put it into randomness. When the 29th came, I had a plan as to what I was going to do and part of that plan meant driving aimlessly around the countryside. First thing though was to pick up flowers to place at the grave stone in Colton.

Angela loves roses and carnations and so I picked up a combination of the two and wrapped them together in a bundle. It was still cold when I got to the cemetery and the snow had not completely melted as the day was to get much warmer. After placing the flowers I took some pictures before returning to the car to warm up and to regain my composure. The whole purpose of the trip was to show my continued respect and love for her and also to close another chapter in my life that had been a part of my life every day for years.

The flowers will wilt and die but my interaction with Angela will live on forever. She’s not bound to the cemetery or her ashes and I know exactly where she resides which gives me confidence in my continued survivorship. I spent a whole year of pain and misery with a couple really hard points that almost made me quit but now that I know I can survive this, it’s made the whole thing easier to deal with. I will always love her and I will never forget who she is or what she means to me, barring a severe brain injury.

The next day, I felt pretty darn good. A lot of the worry and grief I had been dealing with has subsided and now I’m looking out for more opportunities. Along the way, little good things keep popping up and I take them in as best as I can. With the short warm period I was able to get some of the wood cleaned up from my pantry remodeling and a couple in town came by and picked up some of the logs sitting in my brush pile. They even said they could help with hauling out the brush pile itself which would be awesome.

For a long time I’ve been bugged by the problems with my Malibu and lately I’ve decided it’s not worth it to look for the faults in it. I have it fixed up and it runs nice and I should be glad that I have it. It made me reconsider some other things and I’m going to see about changing my plans for my 1950 Chevy pickup so that I can get it back together in a relatively short amount of time. It’s just little things that I have to get back on track.

Primarily now it’s the house, my business, and me that I need to work on and with spring somewhere around the corner I should be able to get something done with all three. I just have to keep looking up and something good should come along again. In the meantime, I will think of the fond memories and grow older knowing that even though I don’t know what I’m doing, I must be doing it alright.

This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Karma Train

  1. I don’t think anyone really knows what they are doing in life. We just have to do the things that make us happy. We have to live a life worth living. 🙂 Stay positive.

Leave a Reply

