Vision Quest


I will be chatting with someone and at some point they will mention some moment on some show they saw on television and ask me if I get that show to which I reply, “I don’t watch TV.” This really catches people off guard and they have to ask if I own a TV and most of the time I have to say “No, not really” and about 100% of the time they ask if I want one.

The more this happens I find myself thinking either the television is some kind of drug that you have to have in order to exist in society or I liken it to the movie “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” with Donald Sutherland. People so attached to their box that they cannot live without the constant feed of information through it. To have someone that doesn’t partake in the daily infusion of prime time is simply a sin and people are screaming foul until I have to run and hide.

Well, it isn’t quite that bad but I do find it odd that people are quick to think that I don’t watch television because I lack the means to when I do but just don’t have any interest in it. I’m just as bad or maybe even worse with the internet where I’m on it most of my waking hours just trying to soak up information and personal communications of any kind.

Every morning I get both the world and local news, the weather reports, and check on a couple games. I also go through about ten tech news sites and also plow through the social media pages for current details I might have missed. I leave out the entertainment news and the sports and stick to tech, business, science, politics, world news, and some other miscellaneous stuff.

So, I’m not going to be commenting about the Olympics, Reality TV, Game Shows, or any other daily programming because it just has no relevance to my life. Everyone can just keep their old televisions or give them to someone else or recycle them because I’m not watching. My only vice right now is when SOA comes back on for the final season and even then I watch that at someone else’s place and after that I’ll be internet only again.

This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

