Dancing Elephants


The overall status right now is that I’m very frustrated with my situation. It doesn’t help that I work in a call center where I have to be happy and helpful to people when inside I feel like tearing out the walls. I suppose it’s one of those internal checks that makes me a better person in that I don’t act on what I feel. I feel the empty space where I used to include Angela in my life and there is nothing for me to put there and so, from time to time, lightning flashes and burns a scar into my memories and I fall apart inside.

Many times I’ve wanted to stand up and grab the nearest object and smash it into something else. I want to tear the keyboard in half and kick the crap out of the guy sitting next to me just so I can release this inner tension. And yet I can’t bring myself to actually doing it. I want to take a knife and carve all of the eyes out of the posters and displays so they only see the empty and again I cannot actually do it.

Is it restraint or is it the fear that by going completely insane that I’ll lose even more and drift over that edge I see so closely now. I want to be away from people and yet I have to be near them. I want to scream so people will acknowledge my pain but I know they will never truly grasp the sheer magnitude of the war that rages on inside me. My darkness envelopes me like a sad wet towel but yet I look for something real to grab onto as I hang over the void of my inner being.

Of course this sounds like a desperate sign of someone that has lost all hope but on the contrary. I know I will survive this and I will build up my glossy beacon of positive thinking just as I have done before. I will plod on through this frustrating book of life and after many, many years I will right a final chapter. But not now.

Despite my pain and the unmentionable angst I deal with every day over this loss, I refuse to let go. Call it being stubborn or call it determination but in any label I want to see where the story will lead next. I’m pretty sure there is more pain to come and I will sink once again into the darkness but I know how to handle it, and that will scare people.

I love Angela so much that I cannot describe it. I know where she is now and someday I hope to speak with her again, I’m just not at that point on the path yet. Right now I’m working through the chaos of my life and eventually, someday, I won’t feel like destroying things in order to block out another emotion.

There are so many things locked away in this elephant mind.

This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

