Playing with a Cat Box


Some of the little ideas I have are useful only to me but I’m sure there are others out there that can find a use for them as well. My recent idea is called a “CatBox” and it’s a small box that one can connect into a network cable connection and monitor the line activity visually. Other than looking rather neat it may serve some diagnostic purpose as well. In essence I designed it to just see what each wire does during connections in my little home network or to the ISP.

The design allows one to see not only when a line is active, but also see if the connection sends a reverse voltage through it which may indicate either a problem or you got the box plugged in the wrong way. 🙂

Eventually I will sit down and put a couple together and if anyone is interested in them, I can certainly make more.

Cat Box Inline Network Cable Activity Monitor

This entry was posted in Hobby, Idea. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playing with a Cat Box

Leave a Reply

