Care and Feeding Instructions


Last week I had blood taken for lab work and then Monday I had an MRI and EKG performed. Tuesday I sat down with my Endocrinologist to see what all of this had revealed and if there was any direction to take from here. For starters I’d been having problems with my concentration and cutting down my intake of Cabergoline to treat the tumor has helped but it has also caused my prolactin levels to start rising again. In the hopes that I can maintain concentration we will continue with the lower dosage for a while and see how things pan out. If the levels continue to rise I’ll have to increase my dosage and try to cope with the effects that compete with doing my job.

Despite my attempts to supplement my Vitamin D with a daily intake of 2000 IUs, the doctor wants me back on a booster prescription of Vitamin D for the next twelve weeks. Not a big deal just not sure why I’m using up so much Vitamin D.

According to the MRI results, the mass that was once the tumor is shrinking but in doing so it is causing another problem. When the tumor grew it got so big it latched onto my optic nerves and caused blindness in half my field of vision. Now I get some loss of vision from time to time whenever I have a headache but I didn’t think too much of it after I figured out what was going on. Well, it turns out that the tumor is pulling the optic nerves down and that means right now I need to get a test done to determine my field of vision. After that I’m not sure but hopefully it will be easier than surgery but I got a sick feeling about this one.

The lesser of the two issues, at least in my view, is that I’m going to be starting hormone replacement therapy because the blood work shows that the twins aren’t working. So, for the next fourteen weeks I’ll be getting Testosterone shots and in three weeks we’ll do blood work again to see if it has helped in the regulation of my other hormones. Maybe this will help with my Anxiety & Depression as well but we’re going to take things one step at a time to make sure this gets done right.

By the way, I gave my doctor the paperwork on my prescription coverage and they are going to take care of it for me. I think it has something to do with this being a new year and they want confirmation on my diagnosis.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

