Opalescent


I’ve got a few things that I want to cover this time so sit back and enjoy.
 
The Fat Lady Has Sung
The other day I was working on my Gateway 1450 laptop that I salvaged from a junkyard. It’s been a great little machine and only had a couple minor issues to fix to make it work again but one day I accidently dropped it and that fall broke one of the USB ports and caused the system to die and lose settings if carried around too much. Well, I was organizing and when I moved the machine it flipped out and lost settings again but then it shut off all of a sudden and would not come back on. I tore it down and couldn’t find anything wrong with it so I thought at the very least I would replace the CMOS battery.
 
After getting the replacement at Batteries Plus and putting it in, the system was still dead to the world. Then I heard the faint sign of ultimate death, a singing capacitor. I don’t have the tools here to track down the bad component so I’m left with replacing the motherboard to bring it back to life. In the meantime I reloaded another laptop i had and will be using that soon but first I had to wash the keyboard as it appears someone tried to feed it some soda. So, if anyone has or knows where to locally get a Gateway Solo 1450 laptop or motherboard let me know otherwise I’ll be checking eBay and Craigslist.
 
 
Leadfoot Condition
I can’t get over the amount of people that feel that they need to drive fast and most of the time it’s well above the set speed limit. Partially it’s a matter of safety not so much for the person speeding but for the unfortunate person that gets to deal with the speeder tailgating them or cutting them off in traffic. The other side that confounds me is that not too long ago we were in a crisis as fuel prices soared and people stopped driving so much. Now that the prices have come down it’s as if people forgot completely that it had happend. I know I can’t really do anything about it but I wanted to say something on the subject.
 
 
Spinners
I’m still having dizzy spells from time to time and I really don’t know what to do about them. Something I’m eating or not eating is the cause but I don’t know how to figure it out to the exact "thing". It hasn’t been happening as much at work thankfully so I can really look like I’m doing something but it is happening right now while I type this up. For the most part I feel as if I just want to fall over, my head is heavy and my eyes feel like they are too tired to keep open. It’s hard to concentrate like this and that alone is enough to frustrate me to no end. I think it’s time to take a nap.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

