I Hope My Friends are Smarter


I got to watch some people recently discuss their plans for going on a new diet to lose weight and I was shocked for the most part that despite their best intentions, they really don’t understand what they are doing. I couldn’t handle it being there as they called out the new tactics wether it be Atkins or South Beach and had to leave the room because I knew if I said anything they would wonder what planet I was on. First off, when I think of "diet" I think "the foods eaten, as by a particular person or group: The native diet consists of fish and fruit." but when others hear the same word they are thinking "a particular selection of food, esp. as designed or prescribed to improve a person’s physical condition or to prevent or treat a disease: a diet low in sugar."
 
What’s the big deal?
Well, most of the time when people talk about dieting they talk about the rollercoaster of losing weight and gaining it back and are mystified as to why that happens to them. It’s because they see a diet as a short-term event in which they eat to lose weight typically without doing exercise and then go back to their original eating habits once the weight is off. It’s those original habits that got you fat to begin with.
 
So what’s the solution?
Change yourself and stay that way. You don’t need to go on some extreme plan that increases one type of food and removes another because that’s hard and the harder of a diet you choose the higher the chances are that you will quit it. Simple and easy change will not only get you to a goal but keep you there until you decide you want to be fat again.
 
How do we change?
First you need to send me $100.00 … just kidding. What you need to do first is start walking. Park furthest from the door at work, the grocery store, or if you can don’t drive at all and walk to work or walk to the store. By just merely walking more you start a simple process of building muscles and burning energy, something that your body is designed to do by nature. It doesn’t take much either. In the time you spent on Facebook today you could have walked around the block and it’s more fun if you can get a friend or family member to go with you. You’ll see new things and meet new people unless your head is attached to your cellphone and I have no help for you there.
 
Now, here comes the part where you have to really be aware of what you are doing because walking doesn’t really require a lot of thinking if you think about it. The more you work, the more you eat. The less you work, the less you eat. This simple plan is related to that walking thing in that your body needs a certain amount of energy to function and if you are up and around alot then you will require more food intake then someone that sits in cubicle all day. Sound way too simple? Well, that’s the basis but the key here is to think about what you are going to eat before getting it and that is going to frustrate some people.
 
Let’s say you go to eat out and you are deciding what to get off the menu. One part of you wants to feed your hunger but another part wants to feed your craving for flavor and that’s the part you need to be aware of to make this all work. You see, flavor will drive you to eat more than what your body needs and that will keep you fat no matter how much you work out. If a burger will fill you up but that shake and fries would taste great as well, you need to stop and order the burger and get a water instead. The food will "talk" to you because even when you are full, you’ll see that chocolate cake and you will think "that cake would taste great" and that’s where you need to stop listening and walk away.
 
As for me, my diet is permanent. I eat what I want but I think about it before I get it so it only satisfies the primary need that fills me up. I walk my dog sometimes multiple times a day just to get out and breathe fresh air. And I park furthest from the door on purpose, there’s always a space open out there. Lastly I ignore the food that talks to me. The louder the cry to taste something I don’t need the more I have to work to walk away but in the end I’ve lost 13 pounds so far and there’s more where that came from.
 
Try it, World of Warcraft will be there when you get back.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

